Ciao a Tutti

Teatro del Silenzio at Lajatico, Tuscany. Click for credits and to enlarge

After coming back from our weekend trip we are leaving again for a few days.

Andrea Bocelli and his Teatro del Silenzio at Lajatico were not that bad after all (Bocelli is from this small Tuscan village in the province of Pisa,) but I especially liked a young violinist whose name I forgot and the Pisan hills area, where Lajatico is located and where Bocelli is considered a sort of local hero.

I totally agree with critics pointing at Bocelli’s “poor phrasing, uneven tone and lack of technique.” But at times his voice sounds pretty good and most of all his crossover singing has drawn many young people to Opera. Young tourists (Dutch, German and British) were flocking to the concert and seemed to like Bocelli quite a lot.

The hills around Pisa, Tuscany, are a great area we didn’t know yet. Hence we have decided to get back there.

I don’t feel much like writing these days and I prefer indulging in other hobbies such as reading and plucking my guitar. I don’t walk much because of the heat.

Volterra had a great Etruscan and Roman past. Click to enlarge

We found intact and extremely peaceful villages in these Pisan hills, with adorable people totally deprived of any commercial mentality. Shops for example open and close whenever the shopkeeper feels like, which can baffle tourists, and yet the place has so much to offer: green landscapes, exquisite food, lovely architecture and a bizarre character of the local population which I especially liked (I was btw surprised by their odd ‘open vowels’ pronunciation, not common in Tuscany.)

We also liked this part of Tuscany not being far from the sea so you get this evening breeze which Romans dig – we call it ponentino, but it is a Roman, not a local, word – not to mention the fish food cooked in delicious ways which was part of our daily diet.

We especially adored the isolation of the place since we live in a busy place. Inversely, when people knew we were from Rome the young especially stared and dreamed about big city life.

Ognuno a quanto pare desidera quello che non ha.

Ciao a tutti.

Published in: on August 5, 2010 at 5:49 pm  Comments (20)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://manofroma.wordpress.com/2010/08/05/ciao-a-tutti/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. People who live in rural areas dream of living in the Big City, people who live in big cities dream of living in the boondocks (very rural). It’s the same with hair… those with curly/wavy hair want straight, those with straight want curly/wavy.

    The grass is always greener…

    But you make the small villages in the coastal hills sound wonderful. Something I shall keep in mind if I ever get the chance to travel to Italia…

    • Yes, the grass is always greener … Go to Tuscany, it is a special place. Btw, are you a city man? I sometimes wish I lived in a rural area. Casciana terme was the village were we stayed.

      • I have lived in both city and rural, also in suburban (a concept that was supposed to provide the benefits of both). Each has its advantages and disadvantages. When I lived in a rural area, it was quiet, the stars seemed more plentiful and brighter, people were friendly and helpful, but I had to travel 10 miles to get groceries, further to get to a decent restaurant. In the city, there was so much to do but the traffic was terrible, the noise constant, the people always in a hurry.

        Now I live in a small city where nothing is more than 15 minutes away. The large cities are all more than 50 miles from here. The young can’t wait to leave and the old (me) wish them well.

        • I liked your distinction of city, rural and suburban. A small town sounds like a good solution, provided the mentality of the local population is open-minded enough. Small towns in Italy are often fine but the local mentality is too parochial at times for me to be able to bear it for a long time.

          • I have always tried to adapt to my surroundings rather than get frustrated when those surroundings do not suit my mind. This may be because I was uprooted at a young age and moved to a strange (to me) culture. I learned to fit in. I then moved again, and again, while these areas were changing due to an influx of Cuban refugees, and then enlisted in the Navy and found myself in dual “cultures”; the Navy and southern California (an alien culture, to be sure). So perhaps I have a different approach to these things. I do not try to roll the boulder uphill.

          • As I grow older I get a bit impatient possibly.

  2. Teatro delle silenzio? Strange name for a theatre, no? Was it specializing in mimes? Sounds suitable for Marceau.
    No matter what, I can not stand Bocelli even in a silent theatre.

    • Ah ah, well, the name is due to the fact that the theatre hosts a concert only once a year, in July, and for the rest it remains silent. You know, Carlo Calcagni was a tenor too and founded a singing school. So you’ll have to bear more opera in this blog I’m afraid ;-)

      Marcel Marceau, the French mime. I had to look it up.

      • I love opera but not all opera singers. I do not hate tenor, I was,when young, one of them although not on a serious level, just in my college’s choir or,as it was then called, Schola Cantorum.

  3. Funny…the photo at the top of your post looks like the sculpture from the 2006 concert in Lajatico.
    http://www.bocelli.de/en/live/concert2006_3.htm

    Didn’t you like the art from this year’s concert?
    http://www.bocelli.de/en/live/concert2010_5.htm

    • Since we were at the final rehearsal they were still painting the art panels. Yes, I liked them.

  4. @Readers

    Since I am leaving, I might be later than usual in replying or commenting. Ciao ragazzi miei, statemi bene!

  5. It took me 42 years to appreciate opera. Anyone who can interest people in a beautiful art form like opera are doing a great service to humanity.

    I live in a place of heat and humidity during these summer months. The daily highs soar into the 90′s F and even stay in the high 80′s F late into the eve (it is 87F right now). I take a walk or two almost every night, but I take them at night, not in the late afternoon or evening at this time of year.

    • 90 is 32 Celsius, hot, much depending on humidity. That of walking in the night seems a good solution. Unfortunately I usually read a book at that time whenever I’m not out for some purpose.

  6. Opera I try hard. It’s tough.

    Been to Pisa. You can pull out a cot in the middle of the town and sleep outside it’s so quiet.

    • Continue to try, since your origin is Italian. Puccini and Verdi are easy. And maybe going to a concert makes the whole thing more intriguing. Actually I was not in Pisa but all around its countryside.

  7. Hello! I don’t know why this post did not go into my feed. I am late to the dinner, here. Guests have gone home for the night.

    I live in the country where the night is black and the stars are bright. Where the only sounds are the owls, the coyotes, and the night birds. As society here in the Bay Area becomes aloof and hurried, I feel very fortunate to have an escape hatch.

    Miss your posts!

    • I envy your black nights and your stars dear Cheri. Having been to America I much appreciated the unparalleled isolation and vastness of the countryside. I missed you all!

  8. Glad to know you’re thinking of your readers, now and then. Too much vacation dulls the brain, amico mio. Return as soon as possible. We do miss your quirky research on romanness. Buon Ferragosto!

    • Of course I do think of them. Yes, now I feel more relaxed though dull maybe a bit. Hope you are having fun in your Ferragosto time dear Rosaria!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

