How Good Blogs and the Bunch Around Them Help ‘Keep the Juices Working’

Man of Roma in Southern Italy three years ago. I'm stuffy, but I like to laugh

I realised how I have been recently posting stuff in conversations more than in my own blog articles, which happened at the MoR’s wild parties – alcohol, idea exchanges (and stupidities) -, but, even more often at times at other stimulating blogs – so many of them! – because of the owner’s qualities and of the aficionados’ virtues frequenting his / her ideas pub (or café.)

So, as it is my custom, I’ll transfer some of these materials to my blog – let the Russians wait – and will start with a dialogue I’ve just had with dear Douglas at the Hannibal Blog (see the header pict above,) a great frequenter (and excellent blogger,) Douglas, of this great place where a perceptive landlord hosts an eccentric bunch of imaginative people.

This Hannibal man btw is an echt German from Bavaria (a dear to me place) weren’t for a shiny Anglo-Saxon icing that is more than an icing possibly but I’m not sure.

Let me thank Douglas (his blog, and its header pict above,) patient enough with my Roman aberration, who helped me keep my brain juices working – to use a phrase of the first, and never forgotten, commentator of this blog, Ashish the Geek Wrestler and Emperor from Maharastra – or Le Empereur, as he now prefers – , about to go out again with my eldest daughter – she working at present in Mumbai – AND, in case of non proper (with her) behaviour, me being obliged to go there and kill him, but, he surely behaving, since he’s a Hindu angel, if ever such a species exists, and, if it doesn’t, he’s the first sample of it without a doubt.

See you later folks.

Man of Roma during his favourite activity: fooling around with his students. Here an IT lesson at a UN base somewhere in the world

Published in: on May 13, 2010 at 9:46 pm  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://manofroma.wordpress.com/2010/05/13/how-good-blogs-and-the-bunch-around-them-help-keep-the-juices-working/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It is tough to be a father. It must be especially tough to be the father of a young woman.

    And thank you for the kind mention. I always learn from our exchanges, even though I may appear intractable at times.

    • I love intractable people, so I feel I’m not the only one. But, you are not intractable. I’d say you are … stubborn at times, like you didn’t want to submit to Roma, which I understand, and, the brave, Roma will ever respect, but most of all, this fuelled the conversation further ah ah ah.

      I don’t know, the good season is arriving, and I feel like being silly more than ever. And, you are a very interesting person Douglas, I like you very much.

      PS
      It must be especially tough to be the father of a young woman.

      To be a father is not easy. And I hope I was not a totally horrible father. But … I guess I was lucky: my two daughters are simply wonderful!

  2. Well, I’m flattered and blushing, MoR. What a thrill it is to re-juice our brains.

    But I thought you were going to re-blog your debate with Douglas here. Was that not the purpose?

    This is something that I’ve noticed, too, by the way: We all leave so many comments in so many threads on so many blogs, often finishing a thought on blog x that we started on blog y and developed on blog z, that it gets rather chaotic. Every now and then, a good synthesis of one of these fascinating brain downloads would be a public service.

    • The pleasure is mine Andreas, yours is a great place and you allowed me to meet many thinking people.

      But I thought you were going to re-blog your debate with Douglas here. Was that not the purpose?

      It is the purpose, but being too long I’ll break it down in 2 following posts, which are ready to be shot, my only problem now being the pictures, I like them. I might post the whole thing tomorrow morning. I am an early bird.

      We all leave so many comments in so many threads on so many blogs, often finishing a thought on blog x that we started on blog y and developed on blog z, that it gets rather chaotic.

      I think the trace of it ferments in our minds, so nothing gets lost.

      a good synthesis of one of these fascinating brain downloads would be a public service.

      Yes, it would be, but this time I’ll paste the said dialogue ‘as is’ – this blog in a foreign language being time consuming lol.

  3. Caro MOR, I haven’t been imparting my witticisms – ahem – lately but I’ve been incredibly, incredibly busy to read blogs (I can’t wait to read your posts about Gramsci) and leave comments. I but have time to post my own and then I run away. I hope to be settled in within the next couple of months.

  4. Nice pictures MOR! You look way younger and cooler (if I may say) than what your real age might suggest.
    Hope all is well; will come back soon to read more..

    • Hi Dev! Long time we don’t see you here. Are you still keeping your blog? Yes, I look a bit younger, but the day of reckoning will soon arrive lol.

  5. Yes, long time indeed. I was busy with various things in the past few months (including my film, which will be done soon now), but will now spend more time reading good blogs like yours. Yes, I transferred few posts from my old blog to this new blog and shall update my blog hopefully soon.

    • Wow, so you succeeded in realising what was your dream! I will read your blog then, Happy I heard from you again dear Dev! [My daughter is now in Mumbai btw: she adores it]

      • “Wow, so you succeeded in realising what was your dream!”
        Well, not sure of that yet :), but yes I’m following my dreams now with as little clutter in mind and with much less fear than before. Long way to go, but I’m enjoying.
        Though, its always nice to see your encouragement and generosity whenever we interact.
        Glad to know that your daughter is enjoying Mumbai. I was in Mumbai recently for the first time myself (of course disregarding my visit in the 80′s as a 10 year old) and I found the city quite exciting and vibrant. Perhaps only city in India where I would like to live if I ever go back to India for good(though very unlikely). It has very cosmopolitan feel to it and in spite of too much traffic and all, things never seem to be in chaos.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers

