RSS Feed

Mother Goose’s “Monday’s child is fair of face” (the Number 7)

The real Mother Goose?

Monday’s child is fair of face,
Tuesday’s child is full of grace;
Wednesday’s child is full of woe,
Thursday’s child has far to go;
Friday’s child is loving and giving,
Saturday’s child works hard for its living;
But the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

[Mother Goose rhymes]

ψ

Tomorrow Number Seven will not teach us that:

There are 7 colours in the rainbow
7 Kings (or Hills) in Rome,
7 sages of Greece (οἱ ἑπτὰ σοφοί, hoi hepta sophoi)
7 sages in India (Saptarishi)
7 wise Medieval Masters
[see a great list here.]

However it will be so inspiring as to make us understand that we can learn, via 7 steps, Ancient Greek (in 7 days.)

Antonio The Samnite
(from Οὐέναφρον)

Samnite soldiers, from a tomb frieze in Paestum, Lucania, 4th century BCE

Samnite soldiers, from a tomb frieze in Paestum, Lucania, 4th century BCE. Click to enlarge

“You must be kidding”
“I am not”

 ψ

Motivated people will acquire decorous-enough wings that will progressively and placidly take them way up high to Greek Old and New Testament, Aesop’s Fables, Strabo and so forth up to many Greek poems and Aristotle (Plato is hard, albeit the apex.)

Stay tuned.

About Man of Roma

I am a man from Rome, Italy. I’m 60 and a Roman since many generations. In my blog, manofroma.wordpress.com, I’m writing down my meditations. The idea behind it all is that something 'ancient' is still alive in the true Romans of today, of which few are left.

10 responses »

  1. I actually own that Mother Goose, passed down from my father. That very edition, with that picture on the board cover. And my crayon marks inside it. Ouch. Did I say children are vermin? They are.

    Seven original astrological planets too. Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn. I am sure you can match them up somehow.

    Reply
  2. tazeinmirzasaad

    Lovely post! God bless you!

    Reply
  3. I also (once) owned that same book… I learned that the initial rhyme was not true: I was born on a Saturday (Mom got me instead of dinner that day back in 1946) but I have never worked hard in my life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 157 other followers

