RSS Feed

Time for Research, Reflection (and Marriage)

A reconstructed Mithraeum. It was a dark windowless space with raised triclinia along walls for the ritual meal, and its sanctuary at the far end. You can click for credits and to enlarge to see many more details

Here at the MoR’s I have always followed a one-comment-one-reply policy. 98% I was compliant with it until one week ago possibly.

Paul’s, Phil’s, Andreas‘, Lichanos’, Douglas’ and others’ comments have been neglected. I ask for pardon. I’ve been too busy with family & research.

I’ll continue to post writings but my replies could be sporadic for the next 10 days at least.

Feel free to comment, quarrel, attack, inspire, have fun, hug or marry one another if you will.

This is a place of freedom, what did you think?

Ψ

I cannot though marry any of you.

I’m already married.

Ψ

Moronity of the day having been said, I’ll add I’ll soon complete this post with a short virtual visit to an amazing Mithraeum of the 1rst century AD located a few yards from my home. A Mithraic temple is a place of worship for the followers of the mystery religion of Mithraism from Persia.

The picture above shows a modern reconstruction of such a place.

About Man of Roma

I am a man from Rome, Italy. I’m 60 and a Roman since many generations. In my blog, manofroma.wordpress.com, I’m writing down my meditations. The idea behind it all is that something 'ancient' is still alive in the true Romans of today, of which few are left.

28 responses »

  1. You apologize too much. Glad to hear you have a healthy life away from blogging!

    Reply
  2. P.S.
    No reply required!

    Reply
  3. Are there available bachelors trolling around this site?

    I’m in enough hot water already in my own life, just curious.

    Reply
  4. wonderful picture (and place).
    I’m looking forward to hear more about it.

    Reply
  5. Richard Manchester

    I know you haven’t invited me, Man of Roma, but Britannia isn’t such a bad place – this is not Hadrian’s Wall. I look out now, here in south London, on a gorgeous early springtime scene. The blood is coursing through my veins, even at 66. The sun shines, the sky is blue and the air is perfumed with pheromones from all the beautiful women about.

    Come and conquer us again. Many, many were sorry to see you go and gaze in wonder at your villas, mosaics, bikinis and other relics. Come to Londinium again and see your temple to Mithras. We are looking after it, even though it is in the basement of a City skyscraper.

    We are such a raw and barbaric race.

    Reply
    • Richard Manchester

      And if you get lost, all your roads lead to London … toss a coin over London Bridge if you feel inclined … I could go on and on.

      Reply
      • Richard Manchester

        .. Moorgate, Bishopsgate… London Wall… Diana’s Temple (refurbished by Christopher Wren)… piers and docks…

        Reply
        • Yes, to the extent that I don’t get why you say at Andreas’ that the Ancients bore you.

          And, as for the US, if Washington is built in neo-Roman style it’s not because the founding fathers were stuffy and loved stuffy books, I believe.

          We are all the same bunch of people!

          Reply
          • Richard Manchester

            You worry me when you suggest the Ancients bore me. Boredom arises through either too much knowledge or too little. I definitely belong to the latter category. I hope I am not bored, merely exhausted.

          • I didn’t use the right word. This is not my language, tho beautiful. You said: “I could go on and on [as for Londinium]. Oh pls do whenever you feel like: I know nothing about Londinium.

    • Dear Richard,

      you don’t need to be invited here, you are so welcome!

      I do know there is blood coursing in your veins, and I know too well how beautiful your women unfortunately are – I’m reminded every day here in Rome around the Coliseum!

      I am 61. I’ll tell you, this thing that only Latins have passions is a moronity – like saying we are the only ones to be human.

      Had I will to finally have the fun of my life – before going to heaven or to Nil – I’d definitely go to London (or to another Anglo-Saxon capital,) not to Rome or Paris.

      In this blog there’s like 400 pages of discussions on the topic ‘Roma vs Britannia’ of any era, one of the passions of my life.

      Roma is not always tender with Britannia.

      Britannia is not always tender with Roma.

      But mutual respect and, what counts more, love, has grown quite a lot I do believe.

      We – Anglo-Saxon and Latin people – only differ in the way of showing this blood (or emotions): the world is beautiful for its variety after all!

      PS
      If you click ‘Anglo-Saxons’ in the category cloud below on the right column you’ll reach much of the Roma-Britannia or South-vs-North-Europe debate.

      Reply
      • Richard Manchester

        I will definitely click (if I can summon the strength). I look forward to the good, the bad and the ugly. There is nothing like honest, well-meaning criticism.

        Reply
        • Maybe this *wild rant* on anger – the one people may have at our age – can be of help too. It summarizes things a bit. I was ‘lecturing’ some Indian teenagers, who showed such maturity in the discussion one gets really worried about our teenagers …

          Reply
          • Richard Manchester

            OOOh my friend. Luvverly jubberly. Something about it reminds me of temples and moneylenders’ tables.

            Though I am English, I am of part Celtic (Welsh) extraction and they are renowned for their emotions and temper – but then you probably already know the many similarities.

            My dear wife is 62 and was in Rome in 1967. Sometimes that vacant, longing look comes over her. When I view the image of Pompeii’s Tripod you so tastefully displayed, I begin to see why.

            All strength to your elbow! (and anything else you have available).

          • And to you too! And yes, anything else, of course ;-)

            Welsh … so we might have genes in common, from the Romans and the Celts. From my father’s side the family is Piedmontese, Western sub-Alpine area, which was part of Gallia Cisalpina, or the Italian Gaul if you will.

            Still today, the dialect out there is more similar to French than to Italian.

  6. “…….We – Anglo-Saxon and Latin people – only differ in the way of showing this blood…….”

    If, by Anglo-Saxon, you mean the British, you could be wrong. There is evidence to suggest that the British are mainly descended from people from the Basque region of Spain.

    Hence “Anglo-Saxons” may in fact be “Spanish” or “Basques”.

    Ole.

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Basilica di San Clemente, Nero’s Domus Aurea and the Mithraic Mysteries « Man of Roma

  8. I’m late to this Cena di Antiquita’. Great research, Giorgio. I’m hungry for more!

    Reply
    • Thanks for dropping by Rosaria. One is never late, sometimes I comment on other people’s ‘2-3 years ago’ writings.

      I have printed your memoirs, and will read them with care tonight. See you soon then!

      Reply
  9. “I cannot though marry any of you.

    I’m already married.”

    LOL :D :D

    Reply
    • Reema!! Welcome back!! I took leave to show your Facebook wedding pics to a Roman friend. Now he is crazy about India (and about you) and has already planned a trip there. It is a fortune he doesn’t know where you live. But he is damn right… :-) :-)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 161 other followers

