Italian Earthquake. We Are All Abruzzesi

Italy's Earthquake in Abruzzo. Click for image source

L’Aquila, located in central Italy, the capital of the Abruzzo region, has been devastated a few days ago by an earthquake, together with some villages of the hit Abruzzo area (the picture refers to some houses in Onna.) The quake has killed almost 300 people and left more than 50,000 people homeless. It is time for concrete solidarity.

How we can help.

The National American Italian Foundation: Abruzzo relief fund. Italian Red Cross Abruzzo page. Global Giving Italian earthquake page.

Ψ

We’ve also received this Charities-Trust-Fund-for-L’Aquila info from our fellow blogger Joanne, a Canadian of Abruzzese descent:

O.S.J. Charities Trust Fund for L’Aquila
Abruzzo Italy – Earthquake
Account Number: 09012 69-21310
At: CIBC 7765 Yonge Street, Thornhill, Ontario L3T 2C4

Ψ

We also receive this link from scerir (see the comment section) to the Italian earthquake page of the INGV, the Italian ‘National Institute for Geophysics and Volcanology’.

Scerir, Italian of Abruzzese descent as well, also provides a link to a movie on the damages to S. Maria di Collemaggio, a large and celebrated medieval church just outside L’Aquila where lies the tomb of Pope Celestine V, stigmatized by Dante Alighieri as he “Who made by his cowardice the grand refusal” (Inferno, III, 59) (“Colui che fece per viltade il gran rifiuto.”)

Both the tomb and the church have been heavily damaged by the quake (together with other major masterpieces of the whole area.)

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://manofroma.wordpress.com/2009/04/09/italian-quake-we-are-all-abruzzesi/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That’s sad. Hope all in your friends and family are safe.

    • Yes, Poonam, everyone I know is safe. Thanks for caring.

  2. We have to stick together and heal each other’s pain. Thanks for posting this, MoR.
    (Buona Pasqua too..xox)

    • Yes Maryann, sticking together is the most important thing. Thank you and buona Pasqua anche a te!

  3. I am saddened by this. Thank you for posting links for International help.

    The news we heard here was that the casualties could have been lessened if advance warning had been allowed. Is there truth to that?

    • Advance warning helps, but it’s not easy to foresee earthquakes. The shocks were going on since a month so people didn’t really believe it was serious. Then it struck, in the middle of the night, when people are more defenceless. If someone is at fault, we will see. Grazie for popping in.

  4. Here in Montreal, the Italian-Canadian Association is mounting a campaign to get reconstruction funds. It’s president explained that other needs are well cared for by the Italian governement and the Italian Red Cross. From the pictures of the camps that we have seen here, it seems to be true.

    • It is nice of you Canadian people. I didn’t link to a Canadian centre for lack of info.
      State and governmental civil protection is now well organized in Italy. It was not so only 10-15 years ago maybe. The problem here is many relatively new buildings are NOT earthquake-proof. I can understand historical ones, but I’m inclined to think there’s absolutely no excuse, for example, to the fact that the almost-new hospital in L’Aquila was heavily damaged. I think an earthquake of this magnitude would have probably killed nobody in California.

  5. May I add this other fund for your readers in the Greater Toronto Area:

    O.S.J. Charities Trust Fund for L’Aquila
    Abruzzo Italy – Earthquake
    Account Number: 09012 69-21310
    At: CIBC 7765 Yonge Street, Thornhill, Ontario L3T 2C4

    Forte e gentile per sempre.

    • Grazie Joanne, it is helpful and sweet of you to post this information (which I added to my post.) Forte e gentile, strong and kind, seems a good motto for the people from Abruzzo (to who you belong as descent, I learn from your blog.) The quake has struck the ‘alpine’ area of Abruzzo were people are known for their character. I’m glad the quake didn’t regard any of your loved ones.
      Buona Pasqua to you and your family!

  6. This is one of those tragedies that will remind all of us of how precarious life is for all of us. My grandmother died in the earthquake of 1987 I think?

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. So, you too had dreams of America? I tell my brothers and cousins who are still in Italy that the pain of immigration, the pain of adjusting, the pain of homesickness may not be worth it. If I knew what I gave up, if I understood all of that, I would not have left. But then, when we are young, we are foolish; we think only of our powers and our dreams; we know nothing else. I’m glad to know you, though calling you Man of Rome is a bit difficult. I also like the new format of your blog. How do I sign up to be a follower?

    • Dear Rosaria,

      life is precarious, yes, my house was shaken a bit too and this I was thinking in those moments, although Rome is not a seismic area, whatever people may think, since tourism has dropped after the quake.

      Yours is a moving testimonial of someone leaving for adventure and a new life. I had dreams of leaving for America too when I was 20 since I had met in Rome people from California who had impressed me. My father was strongly against it, because of the student revolution and all that. But the reason I didn’t go was I had nothing to do there, no job etc. So maybe I was not foolish enough.

      We had here a 1980 quake in Irpinia (Campania), and another in 1997 , Umbria and Marche, unless you refer to the California one in 1987.

      No, this blog belongs to the WordPress family and you can’t follow it. You can just read and comment, or insert the blog in a reader, like Google reader, which makes it easier following blogs you like.

      We’ll continue reading each other Rosaria. Buona Pasqua!

  7. There is an interesting INGV page here (see the link below) so you can choose a specific ‘event’ (there are more than 150 events each day) on the right side of the page, and you can check the specific location of the event on the map (please use the zoom).
    http://earthquake.rm.ingv.it/earthquakes.php
    The earthqakes made some (minor) damages also outside L’Aquila, i.e. in Chieti and in Teramo.
    Ciao,
    -scerir

    • Thank you scerir, I’m glad you stopped by. I’ve seen the page you suggest by the INGV (Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia) and I recommend it to readers for info (also in English) on earthquakes regarding Italy.

      Buona Pasqua!

  8. Hi MoR,
    There is a short, but interesting video about the Basilica of Collemaggio, devastated after that big earthquake. The basilica is one of the most famous things in there, of course.
    -scerir

    Video:
    http://mmedia.kataweb.it/video/5474410/collemaggio-basilica-distrutta-devastato-il-simbolo-della-perdonanza
    Wikipedia (English):
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Maria_di_Collemaggio

    • Thank you very much scerir. I have updated my post with your links. The movie shows the terrible damages to this basilica, a masterpiece of Abruzzese Romanesque and Gothic architecture.

  9. I’m hoping all is well with you and your family!

    • Thank you Marie, and welcome to my blog! Yes, everything is all right with us. Happy you came across my blog!

  10. I feel so sad for all the people that were touched by this tragedy. My heart and prayers go out to all the victims and loved ones.

    • I thank you very much Keith. I’ve seen that your blog has been enriched by tons of new wonderful pics about the Rat Pack. Really amazing how you can seek them out.

  11. How do I obtain a tax receipt issued to your charity for the L’aquila earthquake.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

